Posted by: Caroline | May 25, 2010

May

It’s May. MAYMAYMAYMAY. I sort of have a love-hate relationship with May. I mean, on one hand, my birthday’s at the end of it. But on the other hand, I just want to skip most of it, because I have a ton of stuff to do. For example, two papers and one exam this week. Next week is dead week and I have three exams. The week after that is finals week, but I only have one final during finals week. And between this week and next week is Memorial Day weekend, during which I need to study, but I’ll have people visiting, and my birthday, and a movie I’m really looking forward to.

One of the things I do love about college, though, is the house I live in. I live in a Christian co-op across the street from campus, in a former frat house. It’s co-ed, and it’s a great group of people.

Last Saturday, we had our May Ball. Basically, it was supposed to be an opportunity for people to dress up, and people did, to varying degrees. Currently, there are 22 people living in my house. Before the ball, eleven of us and four friends went out to dinner, at a very nice Italian restaurant. Everyone there thought we were all dressed up for Prom (and I kept going, “We’re too old for Prom!”) and there were a couple other groups that were pre-prom. We sat on two sides of a long table (okay, it was like six table pushed together), and I thought, “THIS is what I should have done for Prom.”

Afterwards, we came back to the house for the Ball, where we learned to cha cha and swing. Actually, I learned to cha cha and swing when I took Ballroom last winter (as well as foxtrot and waltz and something else that I can’t remember). Following the ballroom lessons, one of my roommates DJ’d us through another hour.

One of the girls in my house is an African woman going to a private university to get her MBA. And so we’ve been listening to this song a lot lately.

Another reason I’m looking forward to may being over is the weather. May is either hit or miss in the Willamette Valley. Last year, it was sunny and warm pretty much every day from May 15th out and on the weekends the lawns on campus were covered with girls in bikinis, tanning. Currently, it’s raining like mad, and for the past week or so it’s been pretty much over cast or rain. I’m hoping that it will clear up for this weekend, although I’m not holding out a lot of hope.

With May, of course, comes TV season finales.CASTLE was okay, if a bit frustrating. I thought it would take way longer than two seasons for us to see Beckett’s feelings for Castle. DUDE! It’s better when HE has to chase HER.

BONES – This show. It’s such a drama. I wonder if next season will pick up a year after the season finale? (I don’t mean that they will start showing it from now, I mean the episodes will take place a year from when Season 5 left off). And perhaps it will be interspersed with Brennan and Bones telling each other stories about their respective years? Or will the story line pick up four months from where season five leaves off, and something will happen that will send them back to Washington to work together again?

30Rock – It was cute. I hope Matt Damon comes back next season. And JACK’S GOING TO BECOME A DAD! This should be hilarious. Will he still consult with Liz Lemon when he’s married to that news chick?

This week, Chuck and Criminal Minds have their season finales. GLEE doesn’t have it’s season finale for two weeks  – and on a side note GLEE (which is only in it’s first season) has already been renewed for not one, but TWO more seasons. (To which I have to say, I don’t know if it will last that long. As I’ve said before, the music’s good, but the plot is kind of…so so.

Responses

  1. I would hate if Bones picked up four months after they left each other. I want to see how they handle the changes after a year! I like the drama as long as there’s actual character development coming out of it. About the middle of this season I was getting sick of Bones and all the change that’s been happening makes me happy.

    And I liked Castle! Though I was a little disappointed that he didn’t chase her more. But it’s more realistic than Bones is. God, the drama for five freakin’ years…

    You know it’s the END of May right? You’re supposed to be excited about the beginning of it. 😉 Happy early birthday and good luck with everything!


Leave a Reply

Categories

